T: 020 8870 2537Make a table booking
The Alma was built in 1866 and is a beautiful example of a Victorian pub with its shiny green outside tiles and domed roof. The name commemorates the Crimean Battle at Alma in 1854. Alma Road and Alma cottages (now demolished) were built nearby at the same time.
Young's took a lease in 1872 and at this time London Public House prices underwent an extraordinary boom & bust situation. A combination of increasing property prices, competition from Burton Brewers and falling beer sales meant extra incentives to secure markets by buying pubs and Young's purchased the freehold in 1883. It was at this time when many of the pubs in the Young's estate were remodelled with new bar fittings, lots of engraved glass, decorative mirrors, lamps, tilework and sometimes a Billiard Room. Many of the fine features around the pub to this day are the result of that refurbishment.
When The Alma was renovated over 100 years later in 1987, the bar area was opened up from 4 separate bars to the single one roomed bar we proudly have today and removal of a plaster board ceiling in the Billiard Room (now The Dining Room) revealed a decorative plaster frieze which was restored alongside the beautiful solid mahogany staircase, woodwork and Fin de Siècle mosaics.
In 2010 The Alma took its next big step and, with the purchase of the large Winstanley Metalworks at the rear of the pub, Young's has created the stunning addition of 23 boutique style bedrooms which truly compliment this iconic London Pub.
Painting: 'Come 95th, Show Them The Way!’ by Mark Churms ©2007 All Rights Reserved
Copyright attribution: © MarkChurms.com 2007. All rights reserved.